Fairy Dust and Royal Baby Alpaca

Time flies, almost a month has passed since my last blog, and I have been a very busy bee, I can tell you. :o) I received my first 2012 bulk of clipped German royal baby alpaca white fleece of the finest quality, a mere 17 micron, silky soft and a true beauty! Half of it is already washed and sorted, and I will prepare a listing for some of the fleece in my etsy store soon. I want to take more photos because the current picture was taken with the sun shining directly on the fleece turning its original snow white colour into buttery yellow….yep, need to take some better photos:

Image

 

I also handpainted 1.2kg (2.6lb) of extra soft Bluefaced Leicester roving, 70/30 super fine merino/silk roving and super fine merino roving, already listed in my etsy store, my ebayUK store and my DaWanda store:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

 

I have also been planning 2 new knitting projects for my ongoing online exhibition . The knitting will be done by Usch from the Netherlands, a wonderful and very talented person indeed. She has helped me many times before with the online exhibition, and her knitwork is really beautiful. For one of these projects I painted and spun a 50/50 blend of Australian merino and polwarth fibre from New Zealand. It was the first time I used these two fibres together, and the yarns have come out very beautifully, close to the skin soft and bouncy – ME VEEEEERY PLEASED! :o)

Image

Image

 

And what would my blog be without a new batch of natural soap!? Tataaaa – here comes my latest creation of the finest soap ever – filled with lots of unsaponified jojoba oil for extra skin care and a very sensual and enchanting scent of white orchid, rose and peach. I have called the soap “Fairy Dust”, a very well fitting name:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I love my new soap babes. They are now displayed in my DaWanda store. :o)

2 more batches of natural soap are currently curing and will be listed around the 10th of May. One batch comes with a gorgeous lilac scent and the second one is my “Orange Blossom”, with a sweet and flowery orange scent. Very yummy indeed!

Okay, that’s all for today’s blog. I have to get back to the dyepot, another 2.6lb of rovings need painting today, and another bulk of unwashed royal baby alpaca fleece is waiting to be soaked.

Everyone have a very good weekend and HAPPY FIBRE CRAFTING!

1 Response to “Fairy Dust and Royal Baby Alpaca”


  1. 1 Usch June 4, 2012 at 7:44 am

    Danke fuer die Blumen 🙂
    The Polwarth/Merino blend is a joy to work with – beautifully spun, not to mention that you dyed it in my favorite colours.


Leave a comment :o)

Blogs

Calendar

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Follow me on ravelry!

BLOG STATS

  • 41,118 hits


