Advent and the woolly season

I would like to wish everyone a very happy 1st Advent! I understand that not every country celebrates the 4 Advent Sundays towards Christmas, though I am sure that a lot of people are doing their best to actually slow down one gear and to take their time contemplating just a little during this time of the year. I am not a very religious person but the Advent time is special and very dear to me, it calms me down in all the hectic and fast pace global life all around and reminds me over and over that there are indeed more important things in this world to treasure and preserve than to keep chasing after material things, working 24/7 and well towards a solid heart attack, or to spend too little time with the family, am I right, or am I right? :o) The slowing down part does not always work of course, we all have a life to lead and money to earn to bring food on the table. Still, I believe it is worth trying to slow down just a bit in between.

This year’s Advent wreath comes with candles in burnt orange, just to change colours every now and then. I usually have the traditional dark red candles but I somehow felt like burnt orange this year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My little sister gave me a very pretty Advent calender – it is filled with little chocolates, and every day in December you are allowed to open one door and take out the cholcolate, until December 24th, when we celebrate Christmas in Germany. I loooove chocolate, and I eat way too much of it!! Well, as long as my pants still fit me I should be okay…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even our little house gnome Gilbert has got his very own candle. This one is lit all day when we are at home. Gilbert guards it very well…with some distance though….mind you he’s made of pure wool felt, I would hate to see his beard or his pointy hat go up in flames. :o)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In case I don’t get to write a December blog, everyone have a truly happy and peaceful Christmas season, and keep enjoying your woolly fiber projects! XXX

0 Responses to “Advent and the woolly season”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment :o)

Blogs

Calendar

November 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Follow me on ravelry!

BLOG STATS

  • 40,494 hits


